Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: 348 running issue

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Uk
    Name
    William
    Posts
    15

    Default

    With the engine running i disconnected one maf, the engine continued to run, once i disconnected the other side the engine cut out.

    The engine restarted with bith mafs out but didnt notice any change

  2. #12
    Pangea's Avatar
    Pangea is offline I mince along like a girl Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Name
    Nick
    Posts
    962

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Will348 View Post
    With the engine running i disconnected one maf, the engine continued to run, once i disconnected the other side the engine cut out.

    The engine restarted with bith mafs out but didnt notice any change
    I would wait and read your fault codes. Im sure something will reveal itself. The diagnostics are useful and Ive just found I have a bad lambda (code 1211) which I tested off the car this morning and sure enough its duff. Its possible you have MAF issue. Lets see. Remember now you have disconnected them with the engine running you may have stored codes. Probably 1111. Disconnecting the battery is supposed to clear the codes but mine appears to retain them even if I do that. A bit odd but I can clear them manually using the test buttons. Possibly an ECU variant.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Uk
    Name
    William
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I intend to do just that, i must say though its a farce the fact our cars do not come with the ecu testers already installed seen as the cars over the pond do!


    Out of interest though, “should” the engine have cut out as soon as i unplugged the second MAF?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Uk
    Name
    William
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Another question is, are you supposed to perform an ecu reset each time you make a change i.e unplug a maf, or cat ecu etc, as ive read the engine has to be stone cold to do the reset which rather limits the amount of tests you can do if you have to wait for the engine to cool inbetween

  5. #15
    Nosevi's Avatar
    Nosevi is offline There's an outside too? Where? Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Name
    Nos
    Posts
    10,375

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Will348 View Post
    Another question is, are you supposed to perform an ecu reset each time you make a change i.e unplug a maf, or cat ecu etc, as ive read the engine has to be stone cold to do the reset which rather limits the amount of tests you can do if you have to wait for the engine to cool inbetween
    Ready to be corrected but think it's only if power is cut to one or other of the Motronics.

  6. #16
    Pangea's Avatar
    Pangea is offline I mince along like a girl Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Name
    Nick
    Posts
    962

    Default

    I must say though its a farce the fact our cars do not come with the ecu testers already installed seen as the cars over the pond do!

    Its due to the CARB regs in the States (basically California) which we didn't have in Europe. It required the diagnostic system we are playing with. I agree with you though. The cost would have been minor to fit to all cars. Two switches, two bulbs and two very short looms. Then again that would make it easy for customers to diagnose faults rather than the dealers.


    Out of interest though, “should” the engine have cut out as soon as i unplugged the second MAF?[/QUOTE]

    Technically speaking no but this is a 348 . Read the note at the bottom of the page. 348 workshop manual. In theory this should allow some drivability..

    Name:  maf.jpg
Views: 32
Size:  129.1 KB

    Rather than write an essay have a read of this. https://www.quora.com/What-does-a-ma...un-without-one

  7. #17
    Pangea's Avatar
    Pangea is offline I mince along like a girl Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Name
    Nick
    Posts
    962

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nosevi View Post
    Ready to be corrected but think it's only if power is cut to one or other of the Motronics.
    I think this is right. I would reset if I fitted a NEW component though.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Uk
    Name
    William
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thanks

    So as i understand, with both mafs removed the car should just run rough, so with the engine cutting out when both mafs were removed what does that point to seen as techincally the engine can run without, the second maf?

  9. #19
    Pangea's Avatar
    Pangea is offline I mince along like a girl Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Name
    Nick
    Posts
    962

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Will348 View Post
    Thanks

    So as i understand, with both mafs removed the car should just run rough, so with the engine cutting out when both mafs were removed what does that point to seen as techincally the engine can run without, the second maf?
    Thats how it reads to me. My car is in bits at the moment otherwise I would go and start it and try disconnecting them. Im working through a similar issue to you at the moment. Had an ecu repaired but seems like something else is going on now as well as a knackered lambda (other Bank). Thats getting delivered Monday. I will read the codes again when up and running but I suspect the ecu is still causing a problem. Im getting a 1111 code for MAF hot wire with four other codes too but they may all be related to an ecu issue. Also need to do some wiring checks. Before I condemn anything. Im keeping an open mind. Its all time though.
    Due to the code reading at least I know what side is causing the real problems.

    You could try cleaning the MAFs and connectors if you haven't already.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Uk
    Name
    William
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Yes i will give that a try.

    I will disconnect them both tommorow, see which one causes the engine to cut out, and then swap them over and reconnect, then disconnect again, if the very same maf causes the engine to cut out then surely theres something sinister about it.

    The bits to make the ECU harness arrive monday so hopefully have some codes, although i fear having discconected allsorts last couple of days it will be a mess of codes!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 348 Running Temperatures
    By Quigs in forum Technical Q & A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-03-2015, 08:32 PM
  2. 348 only running on limp mode
    By disciple in forum Ferrari Talk
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27-02-2015, 06:40 PM
  3. 360 Cold running issue
    By Trevsked in forum Technical Q & A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-05-2010, 06:57 PM
  4. My 348 running report
    By Angelis in forum Ferrari Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19-04-2010, 07:16 PM
  5. 348 v Testarossa running costs
    By fezzaphil in forum Technical Q & A
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 30-03-2006, 05:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •