Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Satnavs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Halifax,
    Name
    ian
    Posts
    1,612

    Default Satnavs

    Any suggestions on best satnav, im looking fir one that gives you 3 route options when you set a destination ??

  2. #2
    sssdu01 is offline No I'm Spartacus Committee Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Gloucestershire UK
    Name
    Simon Dutton
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Make sure you get one that supports itinerary planning i.e the ability to map a route on other software (tyre etc) and then download it onto your sat nav device.

    You may find that a lot of Tom Tom devices will allow you to plan and a to b route with a single detour (often called a travel via option), but wont allow you to input a more complex route with a hundred different waypoints.

    A lot of Garmin devices will support itinerary planning, so you can download and store a complex route.

    Whilst most day to day trips will be a to b, ALL the organised trips I have done in cars have very complex routes with hundreds of way points between the start and finish.

    The Clubscud driving trips require a sat nav that allows itinerary planning as we never take to most direct route

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Halifax,
    Name
    ian
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    we have a Garmin at the mo which allows you to put in 'via' points, but unless you drive right next to the via point you have to go into settings and delete it before moving to next one!!, tomtom used to do one you could program from computer but we can't find that one anymore...may have been discontinued .. also when putting a route in we want it to offer more than one route option...as when touring both aspects it come in dead handy..would be great to be able to pre program the unit..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    CO5
    Name
    jonnyjonkers
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Looks like the TomTom Go 6200 can be pre-programmed with routes. Currys are listing this 6" screen at 224, I'm tempted but I think I'll wait now until the January sales.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Halifax,
    Name
    ian
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Many thanks..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    usk
    Name
    birdseye
    Posts
    398

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yorkshirelad View Post
    we have a Garmin at the mo which allows you to put in 'via' points, but unless you drive right next to the via point you have to go into settings and delete it before moving to next one!!, tomtom used to do one you could program from computer but we can't find that one anymore...may have been discontinued .. also when putting a route in we want it to offer more than one route option...as when touring both aspects it come in dead handy..would be great to be able to pre program the unit..
    Puzzling comment about Garmin. I use a Garmin Zumo on the bike because its waterproof. I can use the free Garmin software on the PC and squirt the resulting route down to the Zumo. In doing that I dont usually put waypoints in the route - there is a tool that allows you to simply select the roads themselves. No doubt the software translates that into waypoints but you dont see them. On the other hand if you put waypoints in directly, then obviously you make them points through which you travel. Thats what a waypoint is after all.

    If I am just going from A to B, I use Here on the phone. Free download.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •